SEAN MCCONVILLE REVIEWS 2017 AWARDS (NOMINEES)

My goodness, I’m still coming to terms with the fact that a full year of film has just gone by. Now we must fall into the status quo of the one article or video that film critics of all media platforms must honour as if it were an honoured tradition. A rundown of this year in film.

For SMReviews, 2017 marks the first full year of film reviews, I launched a specials page with a rundown of essentials for film students that has been received positively (link here: https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/08/28/essentials-for-film-students) with more specials on their way, I have even fulfilled a personal dream of visiting Tokyo and being present for the 30th Tokyo International Film Festival.

A quick disclaimer, required by internet law I have to say that these are my own personal OPINIONS. I have not seen every film of 2017, you may even spot a few films on here I have seen but haven’t reviewed. This is just my personal list for you to think or do with as you will.

(Films are in accordance to UK release dates)

Let’s get crackin’…

 

Best Film of 2017

A Ghost Story – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/08/12/a-ghost-story-review/

Baby Driver

Blade Runner 2049 – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/10/07/blade-runner-2049-review/

Dunkirk – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/07/22/dunkirk-review/

Get Out

It – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/09/09/it-review/

Logan – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/03/04/logan-review/

mother! – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/09/16/mother-review/

War for the Planet of the Apes – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/07/12/war-for-the-planet-of-the-apes-review/

Wonder – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/12/02/wonder-review/

 

Worst Film of 2017

Fifty Shades Darker

Kong: Skull Island – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/03/11/kong-skull-island-review/

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/05/27/pirates-of-the-caribbean-dead-men-tell-no-tales-review/

Resident Evil: The Final Chapter – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/02/04/resident-evil-the-final-chapter-review/

Rules Don’t Apply – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/04/22/rules-dont-apply-review/

Suburbicon – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/11/25/suburbicon-review/

The Emoji Movie

The Mummy – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/06/11/the-mummy-review/

The Snowman – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/10/14/the-snowman-review/

Transformers: The Last Knight – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/06/24/transformers-the-last-knight-review/

 

Most Surprising Film of 2017

Churchill – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/06/17/churchill-review/

Going in Style – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/04/08/going-in-style-review/

Goodbye Christopher Robin – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/09/30/goodbye-christopher-robin-review/

The Lego Batman Movie – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/02/11/the-lego-batman-movie-review/

Wonder Woman – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/06/03/wonder-woman-review/

 

Most Disappointing Film of 2017

A Dog’s Purpose – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/05/06/a-dogs-purpose-review/

Justice League – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/11/18/justice-league-review/

Kingsman: The Golden Circle – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/09/23/kingsman-the-golden-circle-review/

Power Rangers – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/03/26/power-rangers-review/

Valerian and the City of A Thousand Planets – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/08/05/valerian-and-the-city-of-a-thousand-planets-review/

 

The “Meh” Award

A Cure for Wellness – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/02/25/a-cure-for-wellness-review/

All Eyez on Me – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/07/01/all-eyez-on-me-review/

Cars 3 – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/07/15/cars-3-plus-lou-review/

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2 – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/04/29/guardians-of-the-galaxy-vol-2-review/

The Sense of an Ending – https://seanmcconvillereviews.com/2017/04/15/the-sense-of-an-ending-review/

 

The “One to Watch” Award

Dafne Keen

Jordan Peele

Joseph Kosinski

Kumail Nanjiani

M. Night Shyamalan

 

Most Anticipated Film of 2018

Open to readers

 

For this award there will be two winners, one chosen by me and one chosen by you, the readers, please comment on Facebook or Twitter to put forward your nomination and the film with the most will win the readers choice. I’ll leave links to my Facebook and Twitter at the end of this post. (one entry per person).

 

Thank you to all who read and enjoyed my reviews this year, I had a blast writing them and am looking forward to all the reviews and specials that will be coming up in 2018.

Keep looking out for the winners of the SMReviews awards soon and let me know of your most anticipated film of 2018.

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook or Twitter for updates on when I post.

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SMfilmreviews

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SMfilmreviews 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s